What’s happening in Mandywritingworld

With my comments in yesterday’s post about being a procrastinator, I’m consistently looking for ways to keep me motivated and working. When I first started the novel I’m working on, I was posting daily updates on Facebook which informed my friends of where I was at word count wise. I seemed to maintain a steady 1000 words a day. Since I have my blog, I thought maybe if I told everyone what I was up to, there’d be some expectation on my part to keep you guys posted on where I’m at. If there’s no advancement in my stories, I will not be happy about posting about that, so I’m hoping it’ll drive me to get more done.

What’s on the desktop? *(This is where all my Work-In-Progress ends up. I like to have a visual of what’s going on in my imagination. Some maybe working titles, some might stay the same. I never know until I’m done the story.)

Short stories: Terrible Things (Horror), Home Renovations (Horror), Obama & Maple (Action/Comedy), This Only Happens In The Movies (Horror).

These are all probably going to end up as short stories, (except maybe #HR). I’m trying to pull away from the flash length for now. (Flash stories are usually under 1000 words and predominantly what I’ve been submitting lately.)

Novels: The zombie novel (Horror)  I’ve been calling it a zombie novel but it isn’t really a zombie novel, I just don’t want to give anything away about it. Call me paranoid, whatever. I’m saying nothing about it until it’s done. It’s sitting around 43000 words, but the intro needs an entire rewrite for sure. It’s my first novel, so who knows, it might never even make it to print.

Where the hell is Mandy now?

I’m part gypsy, which keeps me gone from home a lot. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve seriously entertained the idea of putting my furnishings in storage and buying a motorhome. It’s still in the back of my mind, all I have to do is avoid the snow. :D

Until I get my motorhome, here’s are my plans for the next few months, well at least the locations that have to do with writers and/or books.

EVENTS

Horrible Saturday: Held at the York Emporium (Best bookstore in the world!!!) July 14th, York, Pennsylvania.

CONVENTIONS

As for conventions, it looks like I’ll be attending Horrorfind 14 (Gettysburg, Aug/Sept 2012),  Killercon 4 (Las Vegas, Sept 2012) and Anthocon 2012 (Portsmouth, November 2012).

I am working on having chapbooks of She Makes Me Smile available for the conventions. (You can also still pick up SMMS on Amazon for 0.99.) As of right now, I’m not sure if I’ll be reading or on any panels at the conventions, but you never know… I’ll keep you updated as soon as I find out.

If you see me at any of the upcoming events, don’t be shy, come say hello and have a drink with me.
I’m not hard to miss. Just look for the curls, colourful tattoos, and the Canadian accent.  EH!

~MDG~

What's on your mind?

