Reverse Writing – The Deletion

Obviously the goal of writing a novel is to finish it. I strive to write “X” amount of words per day, I suppose it keeps me going and gets me closer to the end goal. Even if I add just 300 words, I consider that to be an achievement.

As of late, like the last week or so, I’ve been struggling to get past a certain situation. I wrote and wrote and wrote and then something happened… and I couldn’t write anymore. I would sit in front of the computer for hours, writing and deleting, cause nothing fit or the story just didn’t work like I wanted it to. Something wasn’t right, but yet I sat there and tried to push through where I was.

Finally, after too many hours (and days) wasted on trying to write where I was, I just stopped and decided to take a step back. I went back and deleted the last 2000-3000 words (the equivalent to 2 to 3 days of writing for me) and deleted it all.

I figured out that it wasn’t me, but the main character that wasn’t sure where to go or what to do. *(Yeah I get that the main character is me, since I’m writing but she just wouldn’t do anything in my brain.) I removed the last few pages, hoping that it was the situation that was stumping me, not my ability to write. I had introduced another character, who will eventually meet my main, but not now. My brain won’t write the story with him in it, therefore he’s gotta go!

I’m hoping that the deletion *(Paired with my never being home this month…) was the cause of my inability to move on in the zombie story. I have one more trip left in me this month… then March is all writing.😀 (Well writing and selling masturbation toys. It’s what I do…)

~M~

What's on your mind?

