Rejected… It’s not as bad as I thought.

So it’s finally happened… Out of all the things I send out into possible-publish land, I finally received my first rejection. *(First and second actually, they came in one after the other.) Now all in all, I kinda expected it to hurt more, but it didn’t. I looked at it as “Yay! Now it’s back so I can send it out again.”😀

I’m still working on figuring out formats and stuff when I send things in, so it’s possible that I’m still making mistakes with the whole submission process, but I don’t think it’s anything that would stop me from being accepted. More than anything, it’s probably just not for them. I’m new to the whole submitting thing, so I’m not sure who wants what… Also, I send my stuff in as horror, but sometimes it’s not. Well it is, but not. I don’t know how to label my writing yet. Most of it’s twisted and creepy, so I just assume that it’s horror. It’s some kind of horror anyways.

I’m glad to have the first one out of the way, now it’s probably not going to be the most upsetting. I assume that when I start sending out the novel and it gets rejected, that will suck way more. I think the amount of time invested into the piece is a huge factor in how much a rejection is going to affect you. Having worked on a novel for a year compared to a days worth for a short story is a big difference.

I’ll deal with that when I come to it. First let’s get the novel written, before I start worrying about anything else.😉

MDG

What's on your mind?

