The Next Big (Mandy) Thing: YAMMAGEDDON!!!

I was asked by fellow Canadian author Bruce Blake to take part in the ongoing bloggery that is The Next Big Thing. It’s a chance for us to tell people about what we’ve got going on at the moment in our world of writing and then we tag five other authors to do the same. Bruce wrote about his next big thing last week and you can find that here.

This is the first time I’ve ever heard of The Next Big Thing, but I love to be part of something so, of course, I said yes.

Every author involved had to answer the same ten questions regarding their current work in progress.

My WIP is, at the moment, is sitting with editor #2. It passed through editor #1 with flying colours and not as many mistakes as I thought there would be.

Enough with my rambling, here’s what my next big thing is…

What is the working title of your book?

It’s not the working title, I can guarantee it is the title.
(Pretty sure I started with the title and decided to write a novella to go with it.)

Title is (drum roll please): YAMMAGEDDON!!!

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It’s all about my pet sweet potato, Yammy. I was supposed to eat him for lunch one day, but he looked “musey” to me so I put him on my desk and the story just started to happen. I guess that would be proof enough of his musey-ness.

What genre does your book fall under?

I suppose it would be Bizarro, but part of me doesn’t think YAMMAGEDDON!!! is that weird. (Maybe I’m just too desensitized to things…) It does have elements of horror and science fiction as well, so for now I’m going to call it speculative fiction and that should cover everything.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The characters are all based off real people; I didn’t change anything, I even left their names the same. Oh, except for one, I did have to make up one of the characters. I’d love to have the real people in the movie, but if I had to hazard a guess, Kristen Ritter should play Mandy. Selma Hayek would make a good Tasha, (if she can master a Canadian accent). Ewan McGregor for Brian (Canadian accent required once again) and Norman Reedus could play Nate. Mr. PotatoHead would have to be Yammy. I have no other ideas to who else could play the part of the sweet potato.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? 

YAMMAGEDDON!!! is a heartwarming story about a girl and her sweet potato, until everything starts to go wrong.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m hoping someone will pick it up, but if not, I will put it out on my own. This story NEEDS to be read by everyone!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I started it a few months ago, worked on it for about a week, then it sat for a bit when life got in the way. I finally decided to finish it one day and I wrote the rest in less than a week. All together approximately two weeks.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Ummm, really? I don’t think there are books that compare to this one. I haven’t read a lot of bizarro stories yet, so they might be out there. However as of now, shrug, it’s a one of a kind.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

It’s all Yammy the Wonder Spud. He’s the inspiration.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? 

I can guarantee they’ve never read anything like this before. For those who are looking for advance sweet potato entertainment, feel free to follow THE YAMMAGEDDON Facebook Page or YAMMY’s Twitter account.*(Yammy’s learned how to use the Internet, we’re all in trouble now.)

(I feel the need to add the point that Yammy sounds like Morbo from Futurama.)

YAMMAGEDDON!!!

YAMMAGEDDON!!!

Now I get to tag five more people to do the same thing I just did.
Here are my victims:

Thomas A. Erb

Bracken MacLeod

TG Arsenault

Wesley Southard

Don Noble
Thanks for Reading😀
MDG

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop Database « Write, Juggle, Run

What's on your mind?

