Recipe: ABC (Apple, Beet and Carrot) Salad with Lime & Ginger Dressing

The last trip to the grocery store resulted in me buying a 10 lb bag of beets. While I love pickled beets, I’ve already got a huge jar of picked beets in the fridge, thanks to Costco. I was looking for other things to make with the beets and I thought, “Hey, salad.”  I’ve made a roasted beet salad before, which turned out most excellent, but this time I decided to do a raw salad. The colours are super bright and I’m sure this would make a fantastic addition to any meal.

ABC Salad

Ingredients:
1 peeled and grated red beet (I use gloves so the juice doesn’t stain everything.)
1 peeled and grated carrot
1 peeled and grated apple (I used a Cortland and immediately squeezed some fresh lemon juice on it, so it didn’t start to brown.)
1 tbsp peeled and grated fresh ginger
1 tbsp honey
Juice of 1 room temp lime*
Salt and Pepper to taste
*I keep a few lemons and limes at room temperature at all times. This allows for more juice to be expelled from the fruit. If you can’t keep them at room temp, try microwaving it, or submerging it in a bowl of warm water for a few minutes. Also, roll the lime between your hand and the counter top, this helps release more juice.
Directions: 
1 – Combine the apple, beet and carrot in a bowl.
IMG_5384
2 – In another bowl, whisk together the ginger, honey and lime juice.
IMG_5387
3 – Add the dressing to the salad, toss and add salt and pepper to taste. Refrigerate until needed.
IMG_5388
Crunchy and tangy, filled with awesome anti-oxidants, this recipe will definitely be made again in my house. I think next time I’ll add some greenery to it, fresh parsley maybe.😀
Enjoy
Chef-In-Training Mandy

What's on your mind?

