Review: Odd Places by Guy Anthony De Marco

Surprises are nice and great surprises are even better. That’s what “Odd Places” by Guy Anthony De Marco was for me. I received his collection of short stories in my loot bag at KillerCon 4 when I attended the convention in Las Vegas. (SURPRISE!)

Odd Places was the readable I recently chose to take with me on a four-hour road trip to Toronto. Needless to say, I finished the book long before I arrived in Toronto. I love short story collections and this one did not disappoint. (GREAT SURPRISE!)

From flash length to longer shorts, De Marco covers a wide gamut with the 32 tales contained in this collection. Previously published in the likes of Necrotic Tissue, Six Sentences, Goose Creek Literary and many other speculative fiction markets, this book will surely entertain the short story lover in you.

Here are some of the stories that stood out:

1- Dead Meat: A local farmer approaches the butcher with a strange, yet lucrative offer.

2- The Prize: A story about an odd family and their robot butler who seems to suffer from a few glitches.

3- I Hate Sunday School: Kids will do almost anything to get out of Sunday School, especially this kid from this school.

4- Crazy Taxi: Not only is this cabbie a terrible driver, he also knows too much about his passenger.

5- Death Grip: If you could see Death before it got to others around you, would you try to stop it from happening?

6- The Lonely Dead: A creepy who-dun-it? story with a surprise ending.

7- Steaks: A flash story about a cattle truck driver who’s miserable with his job.

*These are just a few of the great stories contained in this book.*

Don’t miss out on this great collection by Guy Anthony De Marco.
You can pick up your copy from Amazon HERE.

***Odd Places is recommended as Mandytory reading***

One comment

  1. Pingback: Odd Places Reviews and Interviews - Guy Anthony De Marco

What's on your mind?